Hit the Slopes

Everything from the bunny hill to the double black diamond

Trail map for ski blog readers

Ever feel like you’re lost among the thousands of ski blogs around the web?

Skier looking at trail map

Blue-jacketed skier, happy trails! If you can ever choose the next one.

Well, fear not!

The Ski Guru: Boston.com, along with its New England ski and snow sports page, features a blog with updates on New England skiing. Snow sports journalist Heather Burke maintains it. Sometimes Boston.com sports blogger Eric Wilbur contributes. This blog follows everything from updates in weather to the number of open trails at local resorts. I’ll likely draw on the Ski Guru blog a lot for coverage of local resorts.

Ski the East: This is another New England skiing blog, but blogger Mike Doyle focuses on news directly from resorts, such as a new interactive app Sugarloaf recently released or special deals at Pats Peak. I’ll probably grab news about New England resorts from Doyle’s blog instead of following each resort’s company blog. It’s like a ski resort news aggregator.

Wachusett Youtube Channel: I can hear the scoffs of fellow skiers, their faces lined with judgmental frowns. I know, Wachusett is rinky-dink compared to most New England resorts, but it’s a great day trip for Massachusetts residents. I used to live in the MetroWest, so the only other option was Nashoba Valley, unless my family drove three hours to a New Hampshire resort. My point: Wachusett is a good place to go if you’ve got a free day, and this channel will keep you posted on ski conditions. The folks at Wachusett upload daily snow reports. This site will be useful to me because, being a student short on money, Wachusett is my chosen skiing destination, and I plan on blogging a little about it.

I wonder, what are today’s conditions? Question answered!

Ski Magazine: Probably the most well-known skiing publication, Ski Magazine’s online content is fantastically all-inclusive. This site covers skiing in general and has reviews of new equipment other blogs I’ve listed don’t have. I’ll draw from Ski Magazine mostly for general ski trends.

The Ski Diva: This is a site for women skiers. I’m cutting out half my readership, but I like this blog because it provides a new perspective on a topic thousands of blogs beat to death (and then revive and beat to death again). I might draw on this blog for just that, a fresh perspective on an old topic.

Photo (cc) by Wikimedia Commons user Kbedell and republished here under a Creative Commons license. Some rights reserved.

3 Comments

  1. I’ve been absent for a while, but now I remember why I used to love this website. Thank you, I’ll try and check back more often. How frequently you update your web site?

Trackbacks

  1. Skiing’s got us all a-twitter! « Hit the Slopes
  2. Best Ski Resorts Vermont

Leave a Reply

